Resources

Resource types

There are three resource types in Swifting:

  • Users
  • Groups
  • Roles

Users are real persons working in Swifiting.

Groups are teams consisting of several users.

Roles are for example a Project Manager, a Developer or a Tester. Each role may contain one or more users.

Resources%201.png

User types

There are two user types in Swifting:

  • Administrator
  • Normal

An administrator user:

  • Can create new users.
  • Can edit any user information, e.g. change access rights, edit photo.
  • Can delete users.
  • Can create roles and groups.
  • Can delete roles and groups.
  • Can add users to roles and groups.
  • Can update and delete any activity.
  • Can create new activities at any place in the activity tree.
  • Can create new views and make them visible to other users.
  • Can create new documents and make them visible to other users.

A normal user:

  • Can create roles and groups.
  • Can add users to roles and groups.
  • Can delete created roles and groups.
  • Can edit personal user information.
  • Can update activities assigned to himself/herself.
  • Can create new activities below an activity assigned to himself/herself.
  • Can delete activities created by himself/herself.
  • Can create new views and make them visible to other users.
  • Can create new documents and make them visible to other users.

Managing resources

Resources are managed in the Resources tab.

View a video about: How to create resources

Creating a new user

Only an administrator can create new users. To create a new user do like this:

  1. Click on the New button.
  2. Select User.
  3. Fill out Name, Email, Password, Type, Cost (per time unit), Job title and a Description.
  4. Save.
new_user.png

You may also like to upload a photo of the new user:

  1. Click on the Change photo button.
  2. Browse for the image.
  3. Click Upload.

Note that Swifting will automatically resize your photo and that you will get the best results if your photo is 40x40 pixels large.

Creating a new group or role

Any type of user may created a new group or role. Do like this:

  1. Click on the New button.
  2. Select Group or Role.
  3. Fill in name, cost and description.
  4. Save.
  5. The new group/role shows up in the Groups and Roles list.
  6. You can now add users to this new group/role simply by dragging users from the left to the selected group/role.

Managing settings

The following settings can be changed for a user:

  • Work schedule
  • Photo
  • Password

A normal user can only edit his own settings while an administrator can edit all users.

Editing a resource

To edit a user, role or a group simply select it and click on the Edit button.

Deleting a user/role or a group

Select the user, role or group and press the Delete button.