Managing The Activity Tree

Add a new activity

An activity in the tree can for example be a project or a single task. To add a new activity to the tree do as follows:

  1. Click in the tree where you want to add a new activity.
  2. Click on the New button and select the type of activity to create.
  3. The Activity dialog box is opened.
Add%20new%20activity.png
  1. Fill in the necessary information in the Activity dialog.
  2. Click the Save button.

Edit activity

Double-click a value in the grid to edit the value directly. You may also select a row and press the Edit button or Enter on the keyboard to open the Activity dialog. Use the Activity dialog to change any of the editable fields in an activity. Press the Save button to keep your changes or the Cancel button to close the dialog without saving the changes.

Move activity

Use the cut/paste function to move an activity to another place in the tree. Do like this:

  1. Select the activity that you want to move by clicking on it.
  2. Click on the Cut button.
  3. Select the activity that you would like to move to.
  4. Click on the Paste button.
  5. Select the As child, Above or Below option.

You may also move an activity using drag-and-drop.

Copy activity

Use the copy/paste function to copy an activity to another place in the tree. Do like this:

  1. Select the activity that you want to copy by clicking on it.
  2. Click on the Copy button.
  3. Select the activity that you would like to move to.
  4. Click on the Paste button.
  5. Select the As child, Above or Below option.

Delete activity

Select an activity in the tree and click on the Delete button. Click Yes to delete the activity. Any sub-activities will also be removed.

Set recurrance

This is the same as repeating a task.

  1. Select a task to repeat and click on the Set recurrance button.
  2. Edit the repeat option, start and end date.
  3. Press the Save button.
Set%20recurrence.png

Lock dates

An activity can be locked in time. Lock an activity to prevent the date from being updated by the Replan function. The different options are:

  • Locked start date
  • Locked end date
  • Locked start and end date
Lock%20dates.png

Share

All users are able to view and edit activities that they have created or are assigned to. Use Share to give users additional rights.
With the Share setting you can control which users, roles or groups that can view, insert, update or delete an activity (including sub-activities).

Share.png

Selecting the project to show

Use the Select project icon to change which project that is shown in the Activity tree and in the Gantt chart.